Overview of Shanghai

Shanghai is divided in two by the Huangpu River. The east side is called Pudong, while the west side is called Puxi. Most expatriates often prefer living in the downtown areas of Puxi, while there are some that rather live in Pudong due to the large number of international schools in the area. Overall Shanghai has a total of 16 districts. In Shanghai the housing options are diversified, like all other major metropolitan cities around the world, properties available include townhouses, semi-detached houses, apartments (Private & Serviced Apartments), and fully detached houses which are often generally referred to as “villas”. Briefly, Singles and young adults often settle in the downtown districts of the city where the nightlife is affluent. Students prefer living close to their universities where cheap living apartments are supplied. Families with Kids prefer mid-levels where schools are in the neighborhood and big apartments or villas are supplied. Quality houses are located all around Shanghai from Xuhui to Lujiazui to the Green City of Jinqiao where plenty of high-end apartments, serviced apartments and dazzling villas can be found.


  • Townships: 210 Towns and Subdistricts
  • Timezone: China Standard Time (UTC + 8)
  • Government Type: Municipality
  • Postal Code: 200000-202100
  • Population: 24,152,700
  • Area Code (Local/Int.): +21/+86
  • Demonym: Shanghainese
  • City Flower: Yulan Magnolia
  • Religion: Buddhist 10.4%, Protestant 1.9%, Catholic 0.7%
  • Language: Mandarin, Shanghainese
  • Internet Domain: .cn


Shanghai Beginners Guide

Shanghai Metro Map

Shanghai Money&Bank